New year, new outlook

31 Dec

New Year Hats

This year has been one of the hardest years I’ve had. Most of the posts I’ve written have had an undercurrent of pain running through them. Most of the days I’ve spent have been spent smiling through my breaking heart. Life has not been easy. Some of the pain I have brought on myself. Some of it was caused by the people around me. Some of it was felt for other people. Some of it is just a part of life. At some points in your life, you just realize that it’s your turn for better days. I believe that this new year, this new start, is my turn. Here are my hopes for 2014.

Better health – I have spent the better part of the past 12-18 months with chronic back pain. It has affected many parts of my life. I have hopes that with my continued chiropractor visits and work at home, it will be better and I can have some pain-free days. And I hope that with those pain-free days comes the ability to be more active and take better care of my body.

Stand up – There are several people in my life who seem to take constant advantage of me. And speaking up for myself has been a work in progress for the past 10 or so years. I hope 2014 finds me better able to stand up and speak my mind in a way that is productive; and not vindictive and hurtful. It’s time I start protecting my own heart from the people who seek to make a mess of it.

Breathe – Most days are over before I’ve taken a moment to realize they’ve begun. I spend all of my hours taking care of someone else. When I’m not working, I’m cooking dinner, doing laundry, running errands, or picking up after someone else. Much of that comes with being a wife and a mother. But, I’d like to take some time in the coming year to breathe and enjoy my life. I want to read more. I want to write more. I want to spend more time in my flower gardens. Take my dog and my kids for more walks. Enjoy our family vacation. I want to look back at 2014 and know that I haven’t just let it pass me by.

Smile – I want to spend more time with the people who make my laugh genuine. I want to be with the people who make me smile. I want to take the little moments that we never get back and enjoy them; not take them for granted. I want to love the people that love me. I want to really live this year.

So, 2013…. I’m not sorry to see you go. I’m ready to embrace 2014. I hope you bring brighter days with more sunshine. If there’s one thing I know, it’s this. No matter what 2014 has in store for me, a year from now, I’ll stand on the other side of it better, stronger, hopefully smarter, and definitely blessed.

Happy New Year everyone!

One Response to “New year, new outlook”

  1. Rikki January 2, 2014 at 7:36 am #

    I am with you on so many of these points. While I’ve tried to remain hopeful this year hasn’t been as hard as it was, that’s the bare truth of it. I’m thankful that the new year brings perspective and hope for so many. Know that you aren’t alone and that you have the opportunity to make this year the best – I know I’ll be trying! Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

Scrawny Resistance

Just another day in the life.

whatasillygirl

Embracing a life of perpetual new beginnings...

http://drugstoreprincess.com/

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Caleb's Heart

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Four Doodles and a Taco

And a Corn Chip. And a Cat.

Team Studer

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

J-Bo.net

Life at 30: The Unadulterated Truth

Eyes Through The Glass

Are We Having Fun Yet?

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Still Memories Photography

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Sarah Driscoll

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

