Making Memories

23 Dec

Merry Christmas

 

I love Christmas! I love everything about it! Spending time with the people I love. Decorating. Eating. The joy that everyone seems to have. Picking out that perfect present for someone you love. I seriously love it! One of my favorite parts of Christmas are the traditions. Some of them have passed down from when I was a child. Some of them we have started on our own. All of them make the Christmas season so much more special. Here are some of my favorite holiday traditions. I would love to hear some of yours!

 

Shopping – I love Black Friday shopping with my best friend! We make a night of it. We scope out the sales, visit as many places as we can, drink lots of coffee, eat breakfast (in the middle of the night) someplace yummy, and then sleep the whole next day. I know there are so many people who think Black Friday is a waste of time, for many reasons. It is, however, one of the days I look forward to throughout the year. One of my favorite traditions with one of my favorite girls!

 

Decorating – Immediately after Thanksgiving, the Christmas decorations come out. When I was a kid, we would put Christmas music on and drink hot chocolate. We each get a new ornament for the tree each year and it’s so lovely to see how the number of ornaments has multiplied from year to year. There is something so exciting and magical about beginning the Christmas season.

 

Lights – One evening, just before Christmas, we all pile in the car, hot chocolate in tow, to drive around and look at the lights. The kids love trying to find the biggest and best light display. I love listening to the conversation and laughter coming from the back seat. It’s one of my favorite things to do with my children.

 

Pajamas – Ever since I was a little girl, there were new pajamas to be opened on Christmas Eve. When I was young, I just thought it was a neat thing my mom did. Turns out, her motives weren’t just to give us a special memory. She wanted decent pajamas in the pictures each Christmas. As a mom, it is definitely a tradition I’ve carried on with my family. We all get new pajamas on Christmas Eve. The kids love the idea of opening a present early and I love getting nice pajamas for pictures the next morning.

 

The Christmas Story – To be sure that we remember what our focus should be on Christmas Day, we read the Christmas story from the Bible before any present is opened that morning. Again, something that my mom started when we were kids. I think it’s the perfect way to remember the greatest Christmas gift ever given. And to remind us all that it’s not the shopping, or the decorating, or the presents….. it’s the gift of Love. That’s what Christmas is all about!

 

Merry Christmas to each of you!

 

5 Responses to “Making Memories”

  1. Rikki December 23, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

    Traditions are the best! Merry Christmas 🙂

  2. shambalkhuysen December 24, 2013 at 8:58 am #

    love your blog…:) Merry Christmas to you and family 🙂

  3. spicyessence December 31, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

    These are such wonderful traditions! Just came across your blog and you have some great stuff! 🙂

  4. lylas23 February 11, 2014 at 4:42 pm #

    Love the pajama tradition! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Pat September 30, 2015 at 12:04 pm #

    I just love your blog. I have my grandchildren visit often and want them to have great memories of these special times. Also found what boys and girls need something that grandparents can apply. Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

Scrawny Resistance

Just another day in the life.

whatasillygirl

Embracing a life of perpetual new beginnings...

http://drugstoreprincess.com/

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Caleb's Heart

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Four Doodles and a Taco

And a Corn Chip. And a Cat.

Team Studer

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

J-Bo.net

Life at 30: The Unadulterated Truth

Eyes Through The Glass

Are We Having Fun Yet?

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Still Memories Photography

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Sarah Driscoll

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

