Dinner Party

7 Nov

This is part of my 30 Things My Kids Should Know About Me series. The prompt…. dinner party from history.

If I could have dinner with anyone from history, I believe it would be a four course excursion. I would also like to request no caloric repercussions for this dinner, since it’s my magical meal.

For the appetizer section, I would request spinach and artichoke dip, potato skins loaded with cheese, bacon, and sour cream, and cream cheese with pepper jack stuffed mushrooms.

Next comes soups and salads. Beautiful and delicious garden salads with potato soup. Served with garlic cheddar biscuits and crusty french bread with oil and herb dipping sauce.

Cropped screenshot of Marilyn Monroe from the ...

Then the main entrée. Crab legs with melted butter, shrimp scampi, and grilled barbecue chicken. Served with sides of grilled veggies and baked macaroni and cheese.

For desert, fried ice cream, fruit cobblers, or salted caramel sundaes.

Goodness, that makes me hungry!

Now…… who to invite.

My first choice would be Jesus. It would be amazing to have the honor to sit face-to-face with the man after whom I’m striving to model my life. To hear Him speak. To look into His eyes. To embrace Him. If I ever got that opportunity, I would revel in it.

Hannah, the mother of Samuel, from the Bible. I find my circumstances having things in common with hers. I would like the opportunity to learn from her faith.

I would also love to sit down with Thomas Jefferson. He was a brilliant man and had so many ideas that were beyond his time. It would be so interesting to hear stories of how our nation was founded. To hear of his inventions and ideas. To get his take on our world today. To listen in hopes of learning something from such a man.

Marilyn Monroe has to make the list. I am such a fan of hers. She just oozed sexiness in a way that few other women ever have. I would love to be able to be that effortlessly beautiful. At the same time, her personal life is a sad, tragic story. I wonder what an honest, heartfelt conversation with her would be like.

Finally, my papaw. He passed away when I was very young. I have no memories of him, but I love who he was based on the stories I’ve been told. I missed out on so much as a little girl, growing up without a papaw, and I want to be able to get some of that back. I want to know what he smelled like. I want to sit next to him, close my eyes, and listen to his voice. I want to hear him tell me he loved me. I want him to meet my husband and children. I want him to be able to kiss my mamaw and hug my dad one last time. I want some of the time with him I should have had.

There you have it. My dream meal with 5 people I would love to share it with. Get creative. What and who would yours include?

One Response to “Dinner Party”

  1. Anna Triplett November 7, 2013 at 2:59 am #

    Awesome. And the Papaw part made me cry 😦 Love you!

Leave a Reply

Scrawny Resistance

Just another day in the life.

whatasillygirl

Embracing a life of perpetual new beginnings...

http://drugstoreprincess.com/

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Caleb's Heart

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Four Doodles and a Taco

And a Corn Chip. And a Cat.

Team Studer

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

J-Bo.net

The Unadulterated Truth

Eyes Through The Glass

Are We Having Fun Yet?

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Still Memories Photography

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Sarah Driscoll

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

