Truth I Can Cling To

25 Sep

Real life is hard.  It’s unpredictable and it’s messy.  Sometimes it’s painful and scary.  The one thing you can always count on, is that there are no guarantees.  People disappoint.  People walk away.  People say things that hurt.  People take you for granted.  People make mistakes.

In the midst of all that life throws at me, there are several truths I cling to. They are the only things that keep me going some days and they are my hope for sanity in this crazy world.

1.) God is faithful.  I can stand on His promises and rest in His peace.  He’s the only one that will never let me down. Because of His love, I am never alone.

2.) My children are the future. They are my legacy. When all else is going wrong, they are the thing I’ve done right. They are a beautiful combination of love and laughter. They are the embodiment of all of my hopes and dreams. They are proof of magic.

3.) I am surrounded by people who, when life falls apart, will step in and help me sweep it up. My family and friends are strong and supportive in ways that I never knew. When I need it the most, they are the constant faces in the background reminding me of everything I am.

4.) My husband has always been right where I’m supposed to be. He’s imperfect and frustrating. He’s the exact opposite of me. He’s confusing. But, he’s mine. I know that I could never feel, about anyone else, the things I feel when I look at him. I know that we were fated to walk this life together. I know that the love I have for him has changed me in ways I would never have imagined. I know that, for better or worse, I will always fight to love him the best I can.

5.) Me. I am easily amused. I am easily distracted. I am loud and outgoing. I am passionate. I am forgetful. I am temperamental. I am loyal. I find it too hard to say no. I am emotional and illogical. I love to laugh and play. I give too much of myself to other people. I am flawed. I am valuable. And that took me far too long to learn.

One Response to “Truth I Can Cling To”

  1. Jennifer December 21, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

    You nailed it!

Leave a comment

Scrawny Resistance

Just another day in the life.

whatasillygirl

Embracing a life of perpetual new beginnings...

The Drugstore Princess

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Caleb's Heart

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Four Doodles and a Taco

And a Corn Chip. And a Cat.

Team Studer

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

J-Bo.net

The Unadulterated Truth

PHIL KNEEN

Photojournalist & Documentary Photographer

Still Memories Photography

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Sarah Driscoll

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.