That’s Who I Am

26 Jun

Several days ago, I was talking to my husband about a song on the radio.  Somehow it prompted a different conversation and, at one point, I said, “If I could be whoever I wanted to be…..”  I have spent many moments since that conversation thinking about that statement.  And I have come to this sad conclusion.  There are some things I would like to be that I’m not, for one reason or another.  And most of those things are easily changed.  They don’t require any specific college degree or truckload of money.  They just require the confidence and courage it takes for me to change.  They require my willingness to care less about what other people think and more about what makes me happy.  They require a leap of faith and some nerves of steel.  And, I think, I’m ready.

imageThere are so many different sides to who I want to be.  There are so many different people I look at and think, “I wish I could be that.”  Not exactly like them, but a specific trait they have that I feel I possess.  Something that is inside of me, I just haven’t ever let it out. No more wishing. Life is too short for me to waste time being someone I don’t want to be. Life is too precious for me to look back on it with any regrets. I tell my children constantly that they can be whomever they want to be. I have finally realized that I get to do that too.

So, over the course of the next few months, I will be making some changes. I will be making decisions that get me to my ultimate goal…. Sara. Not the diluted version of myself that I have become. I am starting small. I have a hair appointment on Friday. Exciting things will be happening. Then, who knows after that? I do know this, I’m done apologizing for what is inside of me. I’m done trying to be who I think everyone else wants. I have four people to answer to; my God, my husband, and my kids. As long as I am who I need to be for them, I get to be happy with myself too. And, it’ long past time I made that happen.

Stay tuned for exciting changes to come….

2 Responses to “That’s Who I Am”

  1. Anna Triplett June 26, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    Yay! You are AMAZING! No matter what changes you want to make to be the you you want to be… you will continue to be amazing! It is who you are and what makes you so very special and I am excited to be along for the ride! Love you!

  2. Dena June 26, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

    I am so excited to see what God has instore for you. He has been in the process of making you who He desires and plans for you to be for a very long time. The journey is not always easy or pleasant. There will be some bumps in the road and struggles along the way. Satan will try to defeat you in your search for a more Christ-like image. Stand strong on the promises of God. He already has the furture laid out for you and who you are to be. Just lean on Him and you will succeed. I love you, dear friend ❤

Leave a Reply

Scrawny Resistance

Just another day in the life.

whatasillygirl

Embracing a life of perpetual new beginnings...

http://drugstoreprincess.com/

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Caleb's Heart

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Four Doodles and a Taco

And a Corn Chip. And a Cat.

Team Studer

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

J-Bo.net

Life at 30: The Unadulterated Truth

Eyes Through The Glass

Are We Having Fun Yet?

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Still Memories Photography

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Sarah Driscoll

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

