Rainy days and Mondays….

1 Jun

Rain days

My great intentions to blog frequently haven’t been going well recently. I have been so busy with my job, children, and life. I am now on summer vacation and I hope that things will be different. I miss writing. I miss the outlet it gives me and the ways it helps me to grow. So, here I am. Let me share with you what I’m thinking about today.

It’s a rainy day at my home. The kind of rainy day I love. A steady, softly falling rain that cools everything and smells fantastic. The kind of rainy day that I can still have most of my windows open and just enjoy what nature has to offer. I have a lot to do today, but I thought I would share my favorite rainy day activities, for myself and my children. Hopefully, you will share some of your favorites with me so that I have new activities in the arsenal.

Read – I love to curl up with one of my favorite quilts, a cup of coffee, and a great book. I like to cozy up in my bed with the windows open and listen to the rain while I lose myself in the pages, and the lives, of someone else’s imagination.

Movies – A great movie marathon. Whether it’s all of the new movies you have been wanting to watch, several movies with a theme (chick flicks, superhero shows, Bruce Willis blockbusters, childhood favorites), or just whatever happens to be on the satellite that day; there’s not much better than hanging out in comfy clothes, sharing a bowl of popcorn, and relaxing.

Crafting – I love creating project with my children. Finger painting, building something, or just coloring. In fact, I have a bag full of stones and some craft paint set aside for a rainy day this summer. It will be fun to see what they come up with.

Naps – Now, obviously, this doesn’t last all day. But I’m not usually one to turn down a good nap on a rainy day. There’s something about the sound of the rain that just lulls you to sleep. And sleeping with a cool breeze coming through the window…. it’s practically perfect.

Housework – I know this isn’t the funnest activity on my list. However, a rainy day is perfect for this. I’m not talking about the usual housework that we all do every day anyway. I’m talking about the project you normally don’t have time for or you have been putting off. Maybe you need to reorganize the pantry or hall closet. Maybe your basement or attic needs to be sifted through and piles made to give away or trash. Maybe the kids’ toys need to be organized and thinned out. Maybe you need to deep clean the kitchen or bathroom. A rainy day is just the opportunity you need to stay in and get something awesome done. And nothing beats the feeling of some serious accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

Scrawny Resistance

Just another day in the life.

whatasillygirl

Embracing a life of perpetual new beginnings...

http://drugstoreprincess.com/

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Caleb's Heart

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Four Doodles and a Taco

And a Corn Chip. And a Cat.

Team Studer

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

J-Bo.net

The Unadulterated Truth

Eyes Through The Glass

Are We Having Fun Yet?

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Still Memories Photography

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Sarah Driscoll

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

