Here today, gone tomorrow

9 Apr

imageI have been reflecting this past week on my children and how fast time goes when you are a parent. It seems like they grow so much from one day to the next. I wrote this in the middle of one of those times of thought.

Today, you are a wide eyed boy, full of innocence and wonder. Tomorrow, you will learn to be more cautious and not as trusting of the unknown.

Today, you are a little girl whose imagination knows no bounds. Tomorrow, you will find yourself more grounded in reality.

Today, you hold my hand when you cross the street. Tomorrow, you will be driving down that street. I can only pray you’ll be as concerned with your safety.

Today, you are a superhero; a princess. Tomorrow, you will put those fairytales to rest.

Today, you are energy and exploration. Tomorrow, you will be video games and telephones.

Today, you are just finding your independence. Tomorrow, you will feel like you don’t need me at all.

Today, you are happy and carefree. Tomorrow, some other person will have the opportunity to break your heart.

Today, I feel that I can keep you safe. Tomorrow, I will have to trust that I have equipped you with the tools to make the right decisions.

Today, you are content just being with me for days at a time. Tomorrow, I pray that we foster a relationship where you still call to hang out with your mom.

Today, you are my heart, my love. Tomorrow, every tomorrow I walk this earth, that will never change.

Leave a Reply

Scrawny Resistance

Just another day in the life.

whatasillygirl

Embracing a life of perpetual new beginnings...

http://drugstoreprincess.com/

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Caleb's Heart

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Four Doodles and a Taco

And a Corn Chip. And a Cat.

Team Studer

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

J-Bo.net

Life at 30: The Unadulterated Truth

Eyes Through The Glass

Are We Having Fun Yet?

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Still Memories Photography

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Sarah Driscoll

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

