A Place Where I Belong

19 Mar

I remember, several years ago, wondering where I would fit. What my calling in this life would be. Dreaming about that moment when my heart would suddenly find the place that it was meant to reside. I wondered where I would be, what I would be doing. I wasn’t sure what career that would mean or the people that would be in my life at that moment. I didn’t know what the future held, and I didn’t know how I would ever figure it out.

 

Today, I can tell you exactly where I fit.

 

I can tell you what my whole purpose in this life is. I can pinpoint exactly where I should be and the people that should be surrounding me. I still don’t know what my future holds, but I can tell you one thing. I know exactly who I’ll be when it gets here.

 

I was made to be a mommy.

 

I was made to experience that feeling of falling in love instantly, with no hesitation or reservations. I was made to know a love so strong that it can’t be explained with ordinary words. I was made to completely understand what it means when someone talks about your heart walking around outside your body. I was made to look at a smile, a face, and feel like my heart might literally burst with more love than it can possibly hold inside.

 

I am supposed to be the one to create a home out of an ordinary house. I am supposed to be the one to make a safe place to land. I am supposed to make meals and create an environment for conversations over them. I am supposed to plan family game nights, fun activities in our town, and memorable vacations. I am supposed to teach lessons on taking care of things by cleaning and doing laundry. I am supposed to be the example, and then divide up the responsibilities.

 

I know the feeling of helplessness when this big bad world rears its ugly head. I know the intense need to protect when someone threatens what’s mine. I know the pain when I must let a hard lesson be learned. I know the fear when I have to let go. I know the sadness when I see tear filled eyes. I know the feeling of incompleteness when part of me isn’t near. I know the feeling of failure when I realize I haven’t done something as well as I should. I know what real love is.

 

I am the one who can calm fears in the middle of the night. I am the one who can repair broken hearts. I am the one who can ease anxieties over doctor’s appointments and shots. I am the one who can build strength simply by holding a hand. I am the one who can create a whole new world out of bed sheets and dining room chairs. I am the one who can be a bank robber or a princess, a customer or a dragon, a super hero or a damsel in distress. I am the one who can wipe away tears and find a smile. I am the one who knows the answer to all questions. I am the most beautiful woman in the world. I am a mommy.

 

 

imageAnd that is where my heart belongs.

 

Leave a Reply

Scrawny Resistance

Just another day in the life.

whatasillygirl

Embracing a life of perpetual new beginnings...

http://drugstoreprincess.com/

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Caleb's Heart

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Four Doodles and a Taco

And a Corn Chip. And a Cat.

Team Studer

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

J-Bo.net

The Unadulterated Truth

Eyes Through The Glass

Are We Having Fun Yet?

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Still Memories Photography

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Sarah Driscoll

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

