Labor sucks….. And don’t let anyone tell you differently

19 Feb

Fetal Heart Monitor & Tiare's Contractions

 

This is part 2 of Isaiah’s story. If you missed the first part, read it here.

 

40 very long, very slow hours of labor.

 

Some of those hours consisted of 5 epidurals that didn’t work. I was either completely numb with no use of an entire side of my body, and no effect on the other (which meant I was feeling intense contractions on only one side of my body….. very strange) or there was no effect anywhere.

 

Some of those hours consisted of my blood pressure dropping so low that I was blacking out until they could get it back up again.

 

Some of them consisted of trying to sleep. Some of them consisted of begging for water, which I wasn’t allowed to have. At one point, we had another ultrasound to see if they could discover the reason it was taking so long. None of them consisted of food, and ice chips are a poor alternative. Most of them consisted of pain.

 

Anyone who tells you labor doesn’t hurt is a liar. It hurts, and it’s scary… and it’s worth every minute.

 

Anyway, 40 hours. At the end of those 40 hours, I could FINALLY start pushing. Now, let me explain to you what it feels like to try to do that after 40 hours of no food, no water, very little sleep, and a lot of contractions. It feels like you can’t possibly do it. Like you have no energy left, no strength left, nothing inside of you that can make it happen. But you do it. You pull strength from somewhere, anywhere, and you push. For two hours.

 

And after two hours, nothing. No baby. They vacuum, they pull, they try to move him (I’ll spare you the agonizing details), and nothing. So, after two hours of so much work for nothing, they rush me to an emergency c-section.

 

I go in, they roll me over for a spinal block, because I am too exhausted to move anything and I basically can’t control any of my muscles any more. They start feeling around for the best place to make an incision and I beg them to stop. I can feel everything. I was terrified I was going to be the star of the next Awake movie. They call the anesthesiologist in and realize that, when directed to, I can move my toes so he tells them to stop. Thank God! I could kiss that man. They decide that the best course of action is to put me under completely. So in less time that it has taken for me to type this post, I went from a delivery room to an operating room and I was asleep.

 

To be continued….

 

Leave a Reply

Scrawny Resistance

Just another day in the life.

whatasillygirl

Embracing a life of perpetual new beginnings...

http://drugstoreprincess.com/

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Caleb's Heart

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Four Doodles and a Taco

And a Corn Chip. And a Cat.

Team Studer

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

J-Bo.net

The Unadulterated Truth

Eyes Through The Glass

Are We Having Fun Yet?

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Still Memories Photography

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Sarah Driscoll

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

