A toast to my husband

11 Feb

imageI write this from my couch. Where I’ve been for the better part of three days. I’ve gone through a couple of rounds with the stomach flu. A stomach flu that landed me in the ER, dehydrated. And has completely stolen all of my strength.

Let me explain a little bit about me. I take care of people. I do everything. I am constantly on the go. Even when I don’t feel good. I down some Sudafed or DayQuil or ginger and I keep going. I hardly ever am confined to my couch. I almost don’t know how to do it. I almost don’t know how to be sick. And I certainly don’t do it very often.

Now, let me tell you the story of the past couple of days. I was fine for the bigger part of the day; until I wasn’t. It hit me all of a sudden, and then it made up for lost time. I ended up laid up, in the Emergency Room, with an IV in my arm. And I haven’t been the same since. I am extremely weak and light-headed. I can’t hardly move. I feel mostly ok as long as I don’t move.

Now, let me tell you why I’m writing this. My husband. He is amazing. From the beginning of this whole thing, he has been incredible. He has held my hand. He has sat at the hospital all night long, while fighting a sinus infection himself. He has let me sleep and made sure I don’t need anything while I’m awake. He has made sure I don’t do a single thing. He has, reluctantly, gone to the grocery store after I convinced him I would be fine by myself for a few minutes. When he got back, he had a bouquet of flowers for me. He made me soup and refilled my drinks. Everything. And a thousand more little things.

Maybe this doesn’t seem like a big deal to some of you. But it is to me. It is comforting to be taken care of. It is comforting to have someone love me enough to be so protective and attentive. It is comforting to not have to focus on anything except trying to get my strength back. It is comforting to know that the words “in sickness and in health” mean so much. It is comforting to have someone to lean on.

So, to my husband; thank you for loving me. And I love you!

Leave a Reply

Scrawny Resistance

Just another day in the life.

whatasillygirl

Embracing a life of perpetual new beginnings...

http://drugstoreprincess.com/

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Caleb's Heart

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Four Doodles and a Taco

And a Corn Chip. And a Cat.

Team Studer

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

J-Bo.net

The Unadulterated Truth

Eyes Through The Glass

Are We Having Fun Yet?

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Still Memories Photography

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Sarah Driscoll

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

