Quest for a better me

8 Feb

Upt riverbank

I try very hard not to make New Year’s resolutions. They don’t last long and you don’t really mean them when you say them. You’re just doing it because it’s New Year’s and you’re supposed to.

I have, however, the past couple of months, been evaluating my life. I am constantly on a quest to be better at being me and leave the world a little better off because I was here. So I have comprised a list of my goals for 2013. I plan on posting them in my house where I can see them every day. And I plan on keeping track of my progress for each of them.

So, here is my list for being a better me:

Be healthier – I plan to start keeping better track of the things I eat and make sure that I am eating more fruits and vegetables. I also need to be more active. I need to make better choices and exhibit healthier behavior to my children.

Save money – I have heard multiple times that you should have enough money saved that you can live off of it for six months. I definitely don’t have that. We also need to budget our money better. We have some pretty clear goals and things we want to do, so we need to make the financial decisions that will get us there.

Volunteer – I want to find a good cause, that I can give my time too, that my son can attend with me. He needs to learn the value of giving back. He needs to learn to appreciate what he has in life. And I need to be the one to show him that.

Spend some time with just me – Reading a book in the park. Taking a walk by the river. Going for an afternoon drive. I learned a lot about my self in the years I was single. I don’t want to completely give up my exploration of who I am.

Write a new blog post every day – I have found I really love doing this. Not just the writing part, which I have always loved. I love the interaction, the comments, and the whole process. I’m enjoying myself much more than I imagined.

There you have it. I know it seems like a short list, and it is. But, I think sometimes we try to do too much at once and we get overwhelmed. This is a list I feel like I can accomplish.

Do you have any goals for this year?

4 Responses to “Quest for a better me”

  1. Anna Triplett February 9, 2013 at 3:19 am #

    I have 4 goals for the year…

    1. To be healthier 2) Grow my photography business further 3) Be a more attentive, better mommy 4) be a better wife 🙂 There’s mine!

    • butterflywritersm February 9, 2013 at 11:50 am #

      Hopefully our “healthier”goals include lots of walks with our kiddos this summer!

  2. Kristi Smith February 10, 2013 at 11:45 am #

    Sara, since I’m having another sleepless night, I decided to take time and read your blogs! I have so enjoyed the ones I have read so far, I know I have missed a few, but I am going to finish all of them before I close this page! You are awesome–a beautiful young woman inside and out with a talent I wish I had in your writing! You are a wonderful mother, wife, sister, daughter, granddaugher, neice, friend, and cousin!!! I have known you the majority of your life and I am more than honored to tell anyone and everyone you are a cousin to me!!!

Leave a Reply

Scrawny Resistance

Just another day in the life.

whatasillygirl

Embracing a life of perpetual new beginnings...

http://drugstoreprincess.com/

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Caleb's Heart

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Four Doodles and a Taco

And a Corn Chip. And a Cat.

Team Studer

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

J-Bo.net

The Unadulterated Truth

Eyes Through The Glass

Are We Having Fun Yet?

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Still Memories Photography

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Sarah Driscoll

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

