Reflecting on the good

6 Feb

English: A cup of masala chai Polski: Filiżank...

There have been some national news stories and some happenings around my house recently that have led me to take a step back this evening and be thankful. I have so much to be thankful for and I don’t always take the time out to really appreciate my blessings. Tonight, I am doing that. And I urge you to do the same.

I am thankful for the love of a good man. I waited a long time for him. And while, it’s not always perfect, it’s ours. And at the end of the day; after the stress, after the arguments, I go to sleep holding the hand of a man who loves me in a way I could never put into words.

I am thankful for the health of my children. I have been the mom in the NICU watching her baby fight. I vowed I would never take his health for granted. I have a son and a step-daughter who have no major medical problems and, in a world filled with cancer and disease, that is not something I take lightly.

I am thankful for a close family. My siblings are some of my best friends. My parents are only ever a phone call away. My grandparents have left legacies for me to learn from. My husband’s family has taken Isaiah and I in and never looked back. I am the woman I am today because of so many of the people I call family.

I am thankful for incredible friends. If you read my A Toast to my Friend post, you know how blessed I am. If you haven’t, you should; it’s about an incredible woman. I also have a few other, close friends, that I can always count on. I am surrounded by people who allow me to be myself, and love me for it.

I am thankful for a good job. I am thankful my husband has a good job. I am thankful we have money to house and feed our family, buy the things we need and some of the things we don’t, and not worry each day about where the money is going to come from. I am thankful that I enjoy going to work and that I get to have a small hand in shaping the future.

I am thankful for the privilege of living in a country where I can worship my God openly. A country where you don’t have to believe the same thing I do, but I still have the opportunity to believe it. I am thankful that I can pray and sing whenever and wherever I want. And I am thankful that you can too, if you choose to.

I am thankful for beautiful sunrises and sunsets. I am thankful for music and laughter. I am thankful for quiet days and crazy nights. I am thankful for coffee and books. I am thankful for bubble baths and candles. I am thankful for manicures and new shoes. I am thankful for people who love to do the jobs I don’t love to do, like car mechanics. I am thankful for clean sheets and clean laundry. I am thankful for barbecue sauce. I am thankful for Kleenex paper towels and Starbucks chai tea. I am thankful for flowers, lazy days by the pool, autumn colors, and enough snow for a snowman.

And I am thankful for each one of you. Thank you for taking the time to enjoy life… as I know it.
What is one thing you are thankful for?

6 Responses to “Reflecting on the good”

  1. Beth Slater February 7, 2013 at 12:19 am #

    It’s hard to say one thing I’m thankful for as I could list so many but if I have to say one it would be my animals. They are always so excited to see me, they give me unconditional love, and no matter if I reprimand them, they come back for more loving.

  2. Anna Triplett February 7, 2013 at 12:31 am #

    I am thankful for many of the things you said, Sara… and I agree with Beth, my animals are on the top of my “thankful” list. In a world whirling with disease, crime and poverty, I am endlessly blessed with things I don’t take the time to truly be thankful for. Thanks for reminding me 🙂

  3. Kristi Smith February 10, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    There are so many things I am thankful for, but first and foremost, besides God, I have to say my boys/family!!

  4. Barbara Long December 28, 2013 at 7:38 am #

    I am thankful for life!!!! I am thankful for ALL of my Family Members… I am Thankful for my health, even though it has it’s flaws…. Everyone does! I am Thankful to be here!!!! I am soooo Very Fortunate!!!

Leave a Reply

Scrawny Resistance

Just another day in the life.

whatasillygirl

Embracing a life of perpetual new beginnings...

http://drugstoreprincess.com/

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Caleb's Heart

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Four Doodles and a Taco

And a Corn Chip. And a Cat.

Team Studer

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

J-Bo.net

Life at 30: The Unadulterated Truth

Eyes Through The Glass

Are We Having Fun Yet?

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Still Memories Photography

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Sarah Driscoll

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

