Hurry, Spring!

1 Feb

Garden with some tulips and narcissus

I think every person, at some point, begins to look forward to spring. Even if you enjoy winter, you eventually grow weary of it. I start to look forward to spring immediately after Christmas. There are several reasons Spring is my favorite season and several specific things I look forward to. Today, with freezing cold temperatures, I am impatient for some warmth.

The first few flowers that start blooming. Crocuses, tulips, daffodils. The beauty that they hold. The promise of things to come. The renewing of color and life after winter has erased all of that from our landscape. I am always anxious to see that first bloom.

The first time the windows and doors can be left open all afternoon. The warmth, the smells, the sounds. Inviting the beauty outside into your home. Feeling the breeze on your bare feet as it gently chases the sunlight through the curtains. The way you can breathe after the fresh air has circulated through your house. The way the air just feels different, lighter.

Walking in new grass barefoot. It’s soft and cool to the touch. It revives you and makes you feel more alive. It invites you to sit down and stay awhile. It’s refreshing and nothing else feels like that.

A good thunderstorm. Not a scary, dangerous one. But, not just a rainy day either, although I appreciate one of those every now and then too. I love thunderstorms. The smell of the approaching rain over a field. The way the thunder rolls across the sky. The streaks of lightning that remind you of just how powerless you are. The violence, the beauty. The picture that an approaching storm front paints on the horizon. The stillness afterwards. The possibility of rainbows.

The color of the sky on a sunny day. That unmatchable blue that only happens in the spring. It’s almost transparent and I sometimes feel like, if I look hard enough, I should be able to glimpse heaven. No paint color, no computer program, no description could ever be quite enough. It makes the world seem so much bigger and open to new possibilities.

Waking up to the sun shining and the birds singing. The chill that you know will burn off as the day progresses. Sitting on the front porch with a blanket and a cup of coffee. Baby animals. Bright colors. Beauty.

I love spring! And I am anxiously awaiting its return.

What is your favorite thing about spring?

5 Responses to “Hurry, Spring!”

  1. Beth Slater February 1, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

    You stated that perfectly…except I would add irises to the list of flowers. I have so many of them throughout my flower gardens and their colors just add to their beauty. I can’t wait for Spring too!

  2. Anna Triplett February 1, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

    Beautifully expressed 🙂 Now I want spring to come too!

  3. Kristi Smith February 10, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

    Spring is my favorite time too, closely followed by fall tho! You described everything I love about spring myself!!

  4. Milemuncher February 18, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    Nice post, for me it means the promise of warm soil to work and time to dust the cycles off ready for the road.

Leave a Reply

Scrawny Resistance

Just another day in the life.

whatasillygirl

Embracing a life of perpetual new beginnings...

http://drugstoreprincess.com/

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Caleb's Heart

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Four Doodles and a Taco

And a Corn Chip. And a Cat.

Team Studer

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

J-Bo.net

Life at 30: The Unadulterated Truth

Eyes Through The Glass

Are We Having Fun Yet?

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Still Memories Photography

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Sarah Driscoll

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

