Pieces of my Soul

31 Jan

Bermuda

I have a list. Most people refer to it as a bucket list. I call mine my life list, because it’s not how I want to die, it’s how I want to live. And it’s always growing. I started it probably 6 or 7 years ago. I never erase anything, so some of them have already been done. I just add on. Every once in a while I think of something, or see something, or hear of something and I realize that I need to do that, too. But today, this moment. This is what I want my future to consist of. These are my dreams. I’ve learned many lessons in my life; some of them were easy, and some came at a pretty high price. Of dreams, I have learned this: dreams are fragile and dreams are precious. Hold them close to you, protect them. If someone steals your dreams, they take with them pieces of your soul.

write letters to my children
keep secrets
hike in the Rocky Mountains
visit every state
dance in the rain
be a great friend
travel the world
read the Bible every day
save money
be happy
go to the Bermuda Triangle
live as an example to others
learn something new every day
no regrets
be patient
get married to a good man
have babies, lots of babies
visit Ireland
watch a hurricane come in from the beach
swim with sharks
read Shakespeare
kiss the man of my dreams in the most romantic place in the world
read the top 100 banned books of all time
write as much as possible
appreciate something beautiful each day
show my children that I love them every day
chase my dreams
give back
laugh, really laugh
go on an African safari
take time to look up at the stars
make money doing something that fulfills me

So that’s what my life list looks like today. Maybe tomorrow it will grow again. Some of them have been checked off. Some of them will always be a work in progress. And some of them may go unrealized. But, I feel that, in the final moments of my life, when I look back, these are the things I want to see.

What is / would be on your list?

Leave a Reply

Scrawny Resistance

Just another day in the life.

whatasillygirl

Embracing a life of perpetual new beginnings...

http://drugstoreprincess.com/

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Caleb's Heart

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Four Doodles and a Taco

And a Corn Chip. And a Cat.

Team Studer

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

J-Bo.net

Life at 30: The Unadulterated Truth

Eyes Through The Glass

Are We Having Fun Yet?

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Still Memories Photography

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Sarah Driscoll

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

