Dreaming in color

28 Jan

It’s tax refund time! The time of year that promises big checks, huge sales, and even bigger wish lists. So, here it is. My tax refund wish list. You know, the things I would buy if I didn’t feel like I have to be responsible with it. My tax check is going for nothing fun. If I didn’t have all of that, though; if I had all of my financial, and home improvement, crap together, I would place these ten things in a hat and pick one. And then I would do a happy dance in my living room, and all the way to whichever store was selling the object of my desire at the most discounted tax-time price.

A big-screen tv – I’m talking 72-inches of life size Bachelor viewing (or Octonauts, if we want to be real about what would really be on it).
A spa day – mani, pedi, facial, massage, hair cut, sauna. You name it, I want it.
A new wardrobe – well, not an entire wardrobe. Just enough for me to wear for a couple of weeks without having to repeat… or do laundry.
A new car – no, my tax refund will not buy a new car. But, it would make a nice down payment on one.
A kitchen or bathroom remodel – I’m pretty sure that if I just bought the supplies and did it myself (or my husband’s self) I could pull that off with my tax money.
A Disney World family vacation – to take my family to the most magical place on earth. That is, hopefully, in the cards at some point. Maybe next year.
An anniversary trip for my husband and me – We had a honeymoon and it was fantastic! However, it was only three days and we had a limited choice of destinations. So, I would let us pick wherever we wanted to go, and we would take off for a romantic, fun-filed week.
A maid – I would put that money in a “maid fund” and those days when there are things to do that I just don’t feel like doing, I would call one up. I could make that last for several years; well, at least several months.
A toy-store extravaganza – I would give each of the kids one-third of the money. (The other third, I would split between us adults.) We would take the toy store by storm.
A ridiculously huge chocolate diamond – they are beautiful. I want one.

So, that’s the dream list. The real list includes one toy for each of the kids and several home-improvement jobs that need to be done before the house can be put up for sale.

What’s your list? Do you have a dream list and “welcome back to reality” list? How are they different?

10 Responses to “Dreaming in color”

  1. OwlMcCloud January 28, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

    Great post!

  2. memyselfandkids January 28, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

    Ahh sounds nice. A chocolate diamond? Hmm, tasty.
    I just hope I don’t have to pay.

  3. butterflywritersm January 29, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    I understand. The first time I mentioned them to my husband, he had the funniest confused look on his face.

Leave a Reply

Scrawny Resistance

Just another day in the life.

whatasillygirl

Embracing a life of perpetual new beginnings...

http://drugstoreprincess.com/

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Caleb's Heart

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Four Doodles and a Taco

And a Corn Chip. And a Cat.

Team Studer

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

J-Bo.net

Life at 30: The Unadulterated Truth

Eyes Through The Glass

Are We Having Fun Yet?

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Still Memories Photography

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Sarah Driscoll

marriage, motherhood, laughter, life

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

